Understanding work order status

Statuses are used in each step of a work order to track its readiness to proceed to subsequent steps as follows:




 How to change


When 'Allocated' is less than 'Required'

'Allocated' quantity greater than or equal to 'Required'


'Allocated' quantity is greater than or equal to 'Required'

Can change to 'In Production' on an item by item basis.   Can also be changed to 'Finished' if enabled in preferences.

In Production

The step is in production

User selects to change the status to 'Finished'


The step is complete



The status of the work order as a whole is the same as status of the current step.  When all the steps are finished, the work order status can be changed to 'History' by recording it in QuickBooks or marking it as NC Only.