As part of your system of internal controls, you may require that all sales be approved by someone authorized to do so before being filled. All Orders enables sales order approval so that if a sales order is not approved, it cannot be filled nor can linked transactions be created. To use sales order approval CHECK 'Require order approval' in Sales Order Preferences. This preferences works in conjunction with the All Orders User Manager so that only certain users can approve sales order. To prevent a user from approving sales orders, simply UNCHECK 'This user can approve sales orders'.
When you open a sales order you will notice an 'Approved' check box. Authorized user can check or uncheck the box at any time. If the sales order is approved it become 'read only' so that users without approval authorization cannot change the sales order after it has been approved.